Planning & Zoning Commission

Purpose: The Planning & Zoning Commission shall provide means of guiding future development of land in the City and its environs to insure a safer, more pleasant and more economical environment for residential, commercial, industrial and public activities, to preserve open lands, and to promote the public health, safety, and general welfare. Planning & Zoning is charged with the responsibility of making studies for the zoning of the various areas within the City and the probable future growth of the City, and to propose the establishment of zoned areas within the City for the location of heavy and light industries, commercial establishments, and residential areas, for the protection of the public welfare and the other interests of the citizens of the City.

Board Membership: The Planning and Zoning Commission shall consist of not less than five (5) members, three (3) of whom shall be residents of the City. Two (2) members shall be appointed from the Council. Members appointed from among the residents shall serve for terms of three (3) years.

Qualifications to Serve: Must be a resident of the City of Silver Bay.

Compensation: Volunteer

Current Members:

  • Steve VanHouse (Chair)
  • Ken Smith
  • Jody Reineccius
  • Scott Johnson, Mayor
  • Richard DeRosier, Council Member
  • Gary Thompson, Zoning Administrator

Meeting Schedule:

Wednesday, January 10, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 14, 2018, 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, December 12, 2018, 4:00 p.m.