Purpose: The Planning & Zoning Commission shall provide means of guiding future development of land in the City and its environs to insure a safer, more pleasant and more economical environment for residential, commercial, industrial and public activities, to preserve open lands, and to promote the public health, safety, and general welfare. Planning & Zoning is charged with the responsibility of making studies for the zoning of the various areas within the City and the probable future growth of the City, and to propose the establishment of zoned areas within the City for the location of heavy and light industries, commercial establishments, and residential areas, for the protection of the public welfare and the other interests of the citizens of the City.

Board Membership: The Planning and Zoning Commission shall consist of not less than five (5) members, three (3) of whom shall be residents of the City. Two (2) members shall be appointed from the Council. Members appointed from among the residents shall serve for terms of three (3) years.

Qualifications to Serve: Must be a resident of the City of Silver Bay.

Compensation: Volunteer

Current Members:

  • Steve VanHouse – Chair
  • Nelson French – Member
  • Mike Johnson – Member
  • Wade LeBlanc, Mayor
  • Richard DeRosier, Council Member
  • Gary Thompson, Zoning Administrator
  • David Drown, Economic Director

2024 Meetings Wednesdays @ 4:00 p.m.-

January 3 – Canceled

February 7 – Agenda / Minutes

March 6 – Canceled

March 13 – Special Meeting – Agenda / Minutes

April 3 – Public Hearing – Agenda / Minutes

April 3 – Agenda / Minutes

May 8 – Agenda / Minutes

June 5 – Agenda / Minutes

July 3 – Agenda / Minutes

August 7 – Agenda / Minutes

September 4 – Agenda / Minutes

October 9 – Agenda / Minutes

November 6 – Agenda / Minutes

December 4 – Agenda / Minutes

2023 Meeting Schedule:

Wednesday, January 4, 4:00 p.m. – Cancelled

Wednesday, February 8, 4:00 p.m. – Cancelled

Wednesday, March 8, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, April 5, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, May 3, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, June 7, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Monday, June 12, 4:00 p.m. Special Meeting – Minutes

Wednesday, July 5, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, July 5, 4:00 p.m. Public Hearing – Minutes

Wednesday, July 19, 4:00 p.m. Special Meeting – Minutes

Tuesday, August 1, 4:00 p.m. Special Meeting – Minutes

Wednesday, August 2, 4:00 p.m. Public Hearing – Minutes

Monday, August 7, 6:30 p.m. Special Meeting – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, August 9, 4:00 p.m. – Canceled

Wednesday, August 16, 3:30 p.m. Public Hearing – Minutes /Special Meeting  – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, September 6, 4:00 p.m.  Canceled

Wednesday, October 4, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, November 8, 4:00 p.m. – Agenda / Minutes

Wednesday, December 6, 4:00 p.m. – Canceled